Contentment Challenge Week #8 

Eight weeks. 58/90 days. Two months. 

This week marks 2/3 completion of my 90 days spending fast toward contentment. As an avid shopper, I never dreamed that eight weeks without shopping, going out to eat, or spending unnecessarily would go by so quickly! If you have been keeping up with my posts, you will see that I have been filling my time with friends, family, my boyfriend, and lots and lots of books. 

Last week my mother purchased four books for me: two fiction and two non-fiction. Generally, we read the same types of books, so we will trade them back and forth but I quickly devour them, as I have this past week {I have already read three of them!} So in the interest of educating others about some bomb books, I will quickly and concisely prescribe the following books for your consumption: 

  1. Me Before You by JoJo Moyes 

  

  • Realistic fiction
  • Made me miss England, a lot
  • Semi-romance but full of quick wit and humor 

   2. For the Love by Jen Hatmaker

  

  • Christian non-fiction
  • Hilarious depiction of a realistic Christian life
  • Quick read

  3. Room by Emma Donoghue 

  

  • Realistic fiction
  • Beautiful depiction of a mother-son relationship
  • Told from the perspective of a five-year old boy 

Please check out these awesome reads and let me know what you think! 
Besides getting stuck inside books, I spent this past weekend, Easter weekend, in Evansville with Cole. We decided to gift each other Easter baskets. Since my primary love language is gift giving and receiving, it warms my heart when Cole so accurately knows exactly what to give me to make me smile. The mug pictured above (I like to party, and by party I mean read books) was a gift from him to add to my mug collection. In addition, he also got me a book I have been dying to read: After You by JoJo Moyes (the sequel to Me Before You) and some delicious candy!  

  

 

This weekend also brought time spent in Newburgh, IN exploring and enjoying a new coffee shop. If you’re ever in town, check out Lucid! 

   
 

We also went to New Harmony, IN and took in the small town charm that reminded us both of Stars Hollow from Gilmore Girls. There we went to a cute wine and beer bar and checked out a labyrinth. We topped the night off by making Spaghetti and watching March Madness. Okay, so that was just Cole. I read in the other room. Haha. 

   

 

Then at last, Easter came and we celebrated and worshipped our risen savior! While the world thought they had conquered Jesus, Jesus was conquering the grave. I was grateful to be able to spend time with Cole and his family including his parents, brother and sister in law, and precious niece, Prudence. 

Easter also brought an end to an era for us. We finished watching the series One Tree Hill. We began watching it together at the end of last semester and have been wrapped up ever since. When I say that this TV show has inspired us, made us laugh out loud, brought us to sobs (okay, just me) and brought us closer as a couple, I am being 100% real with you. I know there are better things than getting caught up in a show, but it is a show that defines our generation, makes you think and love more than any other show and truly teaches the importance of friendship and love. If you haven’t checked it out, all nine seasons are on Netflix. So that’s your homework for this week. 
Thank you to everyone who is cheering me on in this challenge. I appreciate all the texts, comments, and prayers. I can’t believe I have made it this far and I’m excited for where this next month will take me! Cheers to week nine and month THREE! 

  

Leave a Reply

