Contentment Challenge Week #10

I have always been a quitter. It is true. I quit just about every single sport that you can name: soccer, basketball, tennis, swimming, gymnastics, and dance. I quit the arts: piano, flute, choir, and theatre. I have quit gym memberships, eating healthy, and even some relationships. 

But as I was noting I haven’t quit the Contentment Challenge. 

With less than three weeks to go, eighteen days to be exact, I am confident in my ability to finish this challenge having not spent on any unnecessary purchases. 

While my past shows a lack of perseverance and ambition, there are many things I have stuck to that are worth mentioning. 

School: this has always been one of my top priorities. I graduated from Western Kentucky University in 3.5 years and am attending Southern Baptist Theologial Seminary in pursuit of a Master’s degree in Biblical Counseling starting this fall. 

Books: as you may have noticed, I am a huge bookworm. I have read 17 books this year so far and will continue to devour them until I will be too busy with school and work to make time for them {insert post partum book depression here} 

Family/important relationships: the major thing I have learned on this spending fast is how vital close relationships are. I have seen two deaths (not in my own family) and the fragility of life has become more evident than previously. Without people to be surrounded by and encouraged by, life is less meaningful and moments may not feel as significant. 

Week ten has been full of beautiful words, quiet time, and deep appreciation for everyday (seemingly mundane) things. 

As I have said, my friends are wonderful, beautiful people and I am so thankful for their love and support as I try to finish out the contentment challenge on a strong note. 

Two of my friends Shannon (Tiny) and Ann Lundy took me to get ice cream knowing that I could not get any for myself and being that desserts are my primary love language, it made my week! 
   
With this challenge also comes the gift of SAVING money. Obviously I am an avid spender and the challenge has truly helped me to see the value of working hard and saving the money for the future. In this case, it is a trip to California this summer. Besides my usual day to day work, week ten allowed me to spend a super fun day with three of my favorite girls, hanging out and earning a few bucks. We made cookies, which were delicious! {again, dessert = ❤️}

  
Lastly, this week has consisted of several wonderful books that I would highly recommend. Both of the books I read this past week were about collecting moments that matter and striving to see the best in this world, relying on God to get you there. 

I read Cold Tangerines by Shauna Niequist and Looking for Lovely by Annie Downs. They were written 9 years apart yet were surprisingly similar. Both discussed the struggle for perfection, the pressure to look a certain way, and the importance of finding beautiful moments everyday. Looking for Lovely came out just a week ago and is already sold out on Amazon, so I am so thankful to have snatched it up (well, my mom did) just in time! I read it in less than a day! So fun and relatable. Forever grateful for good reads that pull me out of my own selfish life and make me realize how we are all in this battle together. 

   
 
So while I didn’t go anywhere new or drink iced coffee six times (I wish), week ten was especially humbling and lovely. Can’t believe this challenge is almost over! May I persevere and make the most of what it has to offer. 

Leave a Reply

